Going from Teacher to Techpreneur — Evgenii Golubev

Bryn Bonino
4 min readMay 4, 2021

--

After Evgenii wrote the below blog post, we followed up in this video interview. In our conversation, Evgenii shared in more detail the mindset practices he’s used to get to where he is today.

Intro:

My name is Evgenii. I am from Russia and was born in the Russian Far East. I am an enthusiastic and ambitious edupreneur, international educator and a sociable person.

Tell us a bit about your backstory. How did you first get started teaching English?

It all started back in the year 2000 when I entered a teachers’ training university in a city which is close to my hometown. During my 1-st year of studying, our English teacher from our university knew that I was good at English and decided to allow me to try teaching in the evenings on a temporary basis. She felt sick and needed someone to replace her for a few weeks. That was when I started teaching.

That’s so impressive that you got your start so early. You’ve been on such a journey since then. Can you describe what you do now?

We all have hobbies. So do I. Because I love traveling and living abroad I teach in an international school. However, I have had an entrepreneurial soul since I was 5. I have recently launched my online language school and am developing some other projects alongside with that.

I have had an entrepreneurial soul since I was 5.

I don’t think I know anyone who started being an entrepreneur so young. That’s impressive! In an earlier conversation, you really impressed me with Chatedu. It’s such a creative idea. How did you think of it, and how were you able to validate that others were willing to pay for this service?

I love teaching. When I teach, I teach creatively. My students get inspired when they see me traveling, growing professionally, understanding that knowing a language opens many “borders” for those who are striving to learn and enrich their experiences. Globalization might have had some negative impact upon the world. However, advantages outweigh disadvantages.

My students get inspired when they see me traveling, growing professionally, understanding that knowing a language opens many “borders.”

Yes, speaking other languages definitely opens you to more opportunities, because you can communicate with more people. You also coach teachers on how to become entrepreneurs. What kinds of issues do you specifically help teachers with?

Everyone can achieve a lot. It’s just that some teachers and educators are afraid and have some phobias regarding the world outside their comfort zone. I was shy. I was afraid. I hoped things would change for the best. I was like most of the teachers who can’t or are failing to believe in themselves. To start with, I help teachers understand that waiting for things to change is a waste of time. I change their mindset by telling them my story, by exposing them to the reality they weren’t aware of. It all starts with a step forward even if it is a minor one.

I help teachers understand that waiting for things to change is a waste of time.

I have also found that changing a mindset is something that was necessary when making the leap from teacher to entrepreneur. Teachers tend to inherently value education, but our degrees don’t always convert to income. In your experience, what is a way to overcome this challenge?

People should get rid of the stereotype that a degree can help us enjoy our life. Working for someone won’t change our lives for the better. We got used to the fact that a degree is an overall problem-solver. Educators, like any other people, have to become aware of the fact that things won’t change for the better unless they start taking responsibility for their own lives. We have to be straightforward when it comes to our skills and experience being measured by someone because they (employers) want to see the world their way not ours. Few employers care about our understanding of the world in the vast majority of cases.

People should get rid of the stereotype that a degree can help us enjoy our life.

I think that is something that a lot of educators need to grow to realize. I know I sure had to. If you could go back in time, is there anything that you wished you’d known about earlier when it comes to your language teaching career?

I wish I had started my Edupreneurship business right upon graduation. I wish I had known that people’s understanding of the world processes and expectations was old-fashioned.

Is there anything else that you’d like to share about yourself?

Well, I guess that I’ve shared my story and my own example might provide people with some hints with regards to what is to be expected from the world.

I do think that people will find a lot of value in what you’ve shared today. Thank you for that. Okay, so if others want to connect with you online, how can they do that?

Website: https://chatedu.ru/

Email: chateduceo [ at ] gmail [ dot ] com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eugene.gev/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/evgenii-golubev-chatedu/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/chatedu2

Instagram: www.instagram.com/chatedu2021

Originally published at https://makealeap.co/ on May 4, 2021.

--

--