Planning and Strategizing with Process Street

Bryn Bonino
2 min readFeb 4, 2020

When I first started this business, I networked with a lot other small business owners. I asked almost all of them what is the best way they knew of to get the word about what they did. So many had the same response: HARO.

HARO, stands for Help A Reporter Outis a service you can sign up for to get notified when a journalist wants to talk to someone who in your industry. For a 2-month period I signed up to get notified three times a day for HARO business emails. I committed to answering all calls that I new anything about.

That effort led to one feature by Process Street. The quoted me in their blog post: Writing Checklists: Tips & Tricks From 15 Thriving Businesses. I described a goal setting process that I use (now in modified form) to keep what I work on each day tied to a larger objective. The author implies that what I do is a lot of work.

Yeah, it’s a log more than writing a checklist (as the post title says). But running a business is a lot of work. If you aren’t strategic about your decisions, you won’t go very far.

Though, to be transparent, I must admit that I no longer keep lists. I use a Passion Plannerwhere I mind-map out my goals on paper. Then I make a paper plan where I work on one (ONLY ONE) thing per day.

This topic isn’t exactly tied to my work as a branding strategist. Envisioning your future and setting a long-term vision sure does connect to my work. More on that is soon to come.

Originally published at https://backstoryfirst.com on February 4, 2020.

--

--